Homemade Broth Seasoning Request!

A friend requested that I put my homemade broth powder on the blog, so here it is!

This wonderful easy to make seasoning may take the place of all of those bought cubes and powders that we often use in making soups, sauces and casseroles. I have tried many over the course of several years. This idea was origianlly found in an Alive magazine and I have changed several ingredients. Avoiding MSG and other undesirable ingredients is important. You may purchase several different organic or healthy alternatives at the health food store, with chicken, beef or vegetable flavors, but it is easy to make this version below. It keeps well, and adds flavor with natural healthy ingredients. Try it in your winter soups!

I have a lot of my own dried sage from a beautiful sage plant in my flower bed and I grind up my organic dried onions and dried garlic.

Homemade Chicken Like Seasoning

1 1/3 cups nutritional yeast flakes
3 tbsp. onion powder
1 tbsp Celtic or unrefined sea salt (use less if desired)
2 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1 tbsp. protein powder (I used goat whey protein. Try Vega vegan protein for dairy-free)
1 tbsp. coconut sugar
1 tsp. dried thyme
1 tsp. dried sage
1 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. turmeric

1. Using a Magic bullet, or any blender, grind all ingredients until powdery.
2. Store in an airtight jar.
3. Use 2 tsp. per 1 cup of hot water.

Have fun making soups for winter!
Paulette.

Paulette Millis
Author, Speaker & Registered Nutritional Consultant
www.EatAwayIllness.com

4 Responses to Homemade Broth Seasoning Request!

  1. Phyllis Hodges says:

    When you make your Eatmore Bars, do you add the carob chips when the melted stuff is still hot?

    • Yes, gently melt the chips with the peanut butter and honey. Adding the rest of the ingredients quickly keeps the whole mass pliable. Sometimes carob chips are a little drier than chocolate chips, so just add a touch more water to make the mixture spreadable. Good luck!

  2. Peggy Gossen says:

    Thanks for the healthy receipts. I would love to use this. It I am unable to use yeast products. I have a mold sensitivity and I have strong reactions to anything mold related. So is there another product I could in place of the yeast flakes. Thanks Peggy

    Sent from my iPad

    • Apparently the nutritional yeast flakes are okay for candida diets, but better check the internet for more information. Your individual body may not react, should you wish to try it. There is nothing I can think of to replace the flakes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 376 other followers

