Post Surgery Nutrition! and Ed’s Broccoli Salad

Sprains, breaks, pulled muscles – sometimes a result of the extra activities we indulge in for summer fun! As I was out bilking awhile ago, and had a ‘bike accident’ (meaning I flew off the bike and landed, hard, on the pavement!) I thought I would share with all of you my post surgery nutrition. The result of a broken ligament in my left thumb, I now have had surgery and have a cast on for 4 – 6 weeks. Luckily it is my left hand, and while typing is difficult, I am still able!!!

My surgery was scheduled unexpectedly, so I began my program the day before. I stopped Vitamin E and fish oil, as they thin the blood.
I upped my zinc (wonderful healing mineral) to 60mg.; added 50,000i.u. Vitamin A, 10,000 Vitamin C, grapeseed extract morning and evening, milk thistle to help the liver detox the anesthetic, and probiotics 4x a day. These are in addition to my usual regimen of a balance of vitamins and minerals, including Co Q 10.

The day after surgery I replaced 3000mg. of pharmaceutical fish oil, and the day following that, added 800i.u. of mixed tocopherols and tocotrienals (vitamin E).

My diet, beginning the day before surgery contained no sugar (suppresses the immune system) and no white flour or processed foods, as usual, but in addition I lessened natural sweeteners as well. I am also vigilant about my protein intake, spreading the somewhat increased amount over the day, as protein is necessary for healing. Raw vacuum packed hemp seeds are sprinkled on as many dishes as possible, from fruit plates, soups, casseroles, to salads. Hemp seeds are the easiest and best souce of non-animal protein in my opinion. (if you’ve read my Eat Away Illness book you’ll understand the reasons for NO soy in the diet). I also use healing herb tea infusions, a topic I will share in more detail in future.

I will continue this program for two weeks, and then modify it somewhat. I will use the increased protein and zinc for 6 weeks to speed the healing. When I receive my plastic cast/brace next week, I will be able to remove it briefly, and at this time I will begin applying pure vitamin E oil, from a capsule I break open, to the stitches and surgery area.

For those of you who have been clients, you will know that I do individualized programs for each of you; we are all biochemically unique, and while the above is a general overview, it is my personal regimen.

The day before surgery I made a huge salad with lots of nuts and seeds, (essential fatty acids, necessary for healing) to have on hand. The recipe below is from Eat Away Illness, available by clicking on ‘books’ on this site, or going to www.healingwithnutrition.ca.

Eds Broccoli Salad

2 heads broccoli, chopped fine
3 green onions, chopped
1 cup diced celery
1 cup sliced water chestnuts
1 cup raw shelled sunflower seeds
1 cup chopped Teriyaki Almonds
1 cup homemade mayonnaise or healthy mayonnaise made without hydrogenated fat; try Veganase.
2/3 cup organic parmesan cheese (use soy parmesan for dairy-free)
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp liquid honey

1. Prepare vegetables, chestnuts, seeds and almonds and place in a large bowl.
2. Prepare dressing of mayonnaise, parmesan cheese, lemon juice and honey, pour over vegetables and stir
to combine.
3. Refrigerate overnight.

Note: I used Savory Pepitas instead of almonds this time; roasted pumpkin seeds with a healthy sauce. The recipe is in Cook Your Way to Health, and Teriyaki Almonds are on page 58 in Eat Away Illness.)

Natures Medicine: Raw sunflower seeds are an excellent source of Vitamin E, a fat-soluble antioxidant; helpful in neutralizing free radicals, a cause of aging.

I look forward to your comments.

Take care while enjoying outdoor activities, and eat nutritious foods every day!

Paulette Millis
Author, Speaker & Registered Nutritional Consultant
www.EatAwayIllness.com

 

3 Responses to Post Surgery Nutrition! and Ed’s Broccoli Salad

  1. Olive says:

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery Paulette!

  2. Patricia says:

    Hope you are doing well, I just read your blog yesterday, wonderful information, as Rick is going in for surgery tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

