Potato Soup.. Yum!!!

What could be better than a creamy thick potato soup on a snowy day? Ummmm….

I always make a double batch! Today I used coconut oil instead of butter, my garden Caribe potatoes, and a combination of coconut milk and goat milk. I also used my new recipe for a soup base/seasoning made with nutritional yeast instead of the bought versions. It was delicious! I’ll include the recipe below.

Another first for me are the pictures I took with my new iPhone and downloaded for your viewing. Wow! I’m getting connected! Next you will begin to see pictures of my other passion – quilting……

MOM’S POTATO LEEK SOUP (from Eat Away Illness)

1 1/2 cups sliced leeks ( i use some of the lighter green as well)
1/2 cup butter or ghee, divided in 1/2
5 cups diced potatoes with skins on
3/4 cup chopped celery
1 tsp. Celtic sea salt
2 tsp. soup base/seasoning
2 cups pure water
4 tbsp. (or less if desired) whole grain flour (use buckwheat or brown rice for gluten-free)
4 cups milk of choice
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
dill weed for garnish

1. Saute leeks in 1/4 cup butter or ghee.
2. Add potatoes, celery, 1 tsp. salt, soup base and water. Cover and simmer 20 minutes.
3. Blend the remaining butter or ghee with the milk and flour to make a cream sauce.
4. Add to potato mixture and stir to combine. You may blend the entire batch for a really smooth creamy soup, or just a portion of it, if you wish to have some chunky texture.
5. Return to soup pot and simmer until desired temperature. Add cayenne and adjust seasonings.
6. Sprinkle with dill weed and serve or freeze for future use.

Why not serve this with organic egg salad on whole grain rice crackers and a yummy Kale Salad?

Homemade Chicken Like Seasoning

This wonderful easy to make seasoning may take the place of all of those bought cubes and powders that we often use in making soups, sauces and casseroles. I have tried many over the course of several years. This idea was originally found in an Alive magazine and I have changed several ingredients.

I have a lot of my own dried sage from a beautiful sage plant in my flower bed and I grind up my organic dried onions and dried garlic

1 1/3 cups nutritional yeast flakes

3 tbsp. onion powder

1 tbsp. Celtic or unrefined sea salt (or less if desired)

2 ½ tsp. garlic powder

1 tbsp. protein powder (I used goat whey protein. Try Vega vegan protein)

1 tbsp. coconut sugar

1 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. dried sage

1 tsp. paprika

½ tsp. turmeric

1. Using a Magic bullet, or any blender, grind all ingredients until powdery.

2. Store in an airtight jar.

3. Use 2 tsp. per 1 cup of hot water.

Paulette Millis
Author, Speaker & Registered Nutritional Consultant
www.EatAwayIllness.com

Leave a Reply

