March is Nutrition Month!!

Try a few new healthy recipes, add them to your repertoire, and grow healthier!

I’m continually experimenting with new ideas for making tasty combinations of foods. I love it! I found the following recipe in an old magazine and revised a few of the ingredients. I make a serving for one by easily using smaller amounts of the ingredients.

Shakshouka for one in photo.

Shakshouka

This dish, originally from Tunisia, contains multiple mood-boosting and anti-inflammatory spices, and it is very easy and quick to prepare. Very yummy!

4 tbsp. Coconut oil

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

1 red bell pepper (I used frozen zucchini cubes)

2 14 oz. Cans of chopped tomatoes ( I used my frozen tomatoes)

4 diced Roma tomatoes (again, I used more frozen tomatoes)

2 tsp. Ground smoked paprika

2 tsp. Ground coriander

½ tsp. Ground cardamom

½ tsp. Caraway seeds

½ tsp. Unrefined sea salt

½ tsp. Ground black pepper

pinch of cayenne

4 – 6 organic eggs

crumbled feta cheese

fresh chopped parsley or cilantro if you have it for garnish

1. Using a deep saute’ pan, heat oil, and saute’ onion, garlic, and bell pepper (or zucchini).

2. When onions are translucent, add tomatoes, stir, and then add all the spices.

3. Simmer on low heat until veggies are cooked through.

4. Make small indentations, gently pour an egg into each, sprinkle with feta cheese, cover, and cook for 5 minutes on low or until eggs are set as desired.

A great way to use some of those frozen garden veggies.

One Response to March is Nutrition Month!!

  1. p.lyon@sasktel.net says:

    Thanks, It Looks good, l’m going to try it!

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

Leave a comment